Sustainable Industrial Processing Summit & Exhibition



Curriculum Vita Wei YANG

Date and Place of Birth

February 16, 1954, Beijing, P.R.CHINA

Degrees

Ph.D. Brown University, June 1985M.S. Tsinghua University, April 1981

B.S. North-Western Technical University, December 1976

Honorary Degrees

Doctor of Engineering Hong Kong Polytechnic University, 2011

Doctor of Science Brown University, 2012

Doctor of Law the University of Bristol, 2013

Employment

1985-2004 Tsinghua University

Department of Engineering Mechanics, Lecturer (1985), Associate Professor (1986), Professor (1989), Department Head (1997-2004)

Yantz Professor of the Ministry of Education (1999-2004)

Chairman of the University Academic Committee (2004-2006)

Dean of Aerospace (2004)

Adjunct Professor (2005-present)

Address: Tsinghua University, Beijing, P.R. China 100084

Tel: +86-10-62595526(H), 62782642(O)

E-mail: yw-dem@tsinghua.edu.cn

2004-2006 Director General of Committee of Academic Degrees, The State

Council

Director of Bureau of Graduate Education, the Ministry of

Education

2006-2013 President of Zhejiang University

Zhejiang University, Hangzhou, Zhejiang, P. R. China 310058

Tel: +86-571-88981109 E-mail: yangw@zju.edu.cn

Professor (2013-present)

2013- President of National Natural Science Foundation of China (NSFC) Room 402, Institution Building, National Natural Science Foundation of China, 83 Shuangqing Road, Haidian District, Beijing, P. R. China 100085

Tel: +86-10-62329336

E-mail: yangwei@nsfc.gov.cn

Visiting Positions

Visiting Professor (2002)	University of Illinois, Urbana-Champaign, USA
Visiting Professor (2000-01)	Tokyo Institute of Technology, Japan
Visiting Scientist (1998)	Princeton University, USA
Visiting Scientist (1996-97)	Taiwan University, Taipei, China
Visiting Scientist (1995)	University of Sherbrook, Sherbrook, Canada
Visiting Scientist (1995)	University of California, Santa Barbara, USA
Visiting Scientist (1993)	University of California, Santa Barbara, USA

Visiting Professor (1990) Brown University, USA

Visiting Scientist (1990) Hong Kong Polytechnic, Hong Kong

Visiting Professor (1988) Institute of Mechanics of Grenoble, France

Visiting Scientist (1987-88) University of Sheffield, UK

Academic Activities

- Council Member (1996-2005, 2011-2015), China Association of Science and Technology (CAST)
- Member (1996-2005), Scientific Committee of the Ministry of Education
- Editor-in-Chief (1999-2003), Acta Mechanica Sinica
- Vice President (1998-2006, 2010-2014), President (2014-), Chinese Society of Theoretical and Applied Mechanics (CSTAM)
- President (2004-2008), The Far East and Oceanic Fracture Society
- General Assembly Member (2000-), Bureau Member (2012-2016), Chairman of Working Party 7 (2000-2012) (Micro- and Nano-scale Phenomena in Mechanics), International Union of Theoretical and Applied Mechanics (IUTAM),
- Convener (2005-), Mechanics Discipline Appraising Group of the Academic Degrees Committee
- Chair (2013-), Committee for National Natural Science Award
- Regional Editor, International Journal of Fracture
- Editorial Board, International Journal of Damage Mechanics
- Editorial Board, Fatigue and Fracture of Engineering Materials and Structures

- Editorial Board (resigned in 2005), International Journal of Solid and Structures
- Editorial Board, Archive in Applied Mechanics
- Editorial Board, Journal of the Mechanics and Physics of Solids
- Member (2003-), Chair of Technological Science Division (2008-2012, 2016-), Chinese Academy of Sciences (CAS),
- Foreign Member, Russian Academy of Astronautics
- Fellow(2004-), Head of Division of Engineering Science (2008-2012), Third World Academy of Sciences (TWAS)

Education Activities

- Chair (1997-2004), Department of Engineering Mechanics, Tsinghua University
- Dean (2004), School of Aerospace, Tsinghua University
- Chair (2004-2006), Academic Committee, Tsinghua University
- Director-General (2004-2006), Office for Academic and Professional Degrees, The State Council
- President (2006-2013), Zhejiang University
- President (2009-2010), Association of Pacific Rim Universities (APRU)
- Chairman (2010-2012), Union of Research Universities in China (9+3)
- Chairman (2016-), National Post-Doctorate Funds of China
- Asia-Pacific Chair (2006-2013), Global University Network of innovation (GUNi)
- Chair (2008, 2012), Consortium of 9 Research Universities (C9)
- Administrative Board Member (2012-2013), International Association of Universities (IAU),
- Member (2012-), International Academic Advisory Panel (IAAP) for Higher Education, Singapore.

Political Activities

- Member (1995-2000), the People's Congress of Haidian District, Beijing
- Member (2007-), the National People's Congress (NPC)
- Member (2012-), the Standing Committee of NPC
- Member (2012-), the Committee for Environment and Resources, National People's Congress

Research Fields

- Fracture Mechanics, Micromechanics, Nanomechanics, Mechanics of Materials
- Mechatronic Reliability
- Structural Integrity of Reactor Pressure Vessels and Pipes
- Aerospace Technology

Awards

• Calvin Rice Lecture Award, American Society of Mechanical Engineers (ASME), 2012.

- Eric Reissner Medal, International Society of Engineering Science, 2011
- Zhou Peiyuan Award for Mechanics, 2011
- Brown Engineering Medal, 2009
- Award for Mathematics and Mechanics by Ho Leung Ho Lee Foundation, 2008
- The National Natural Science Award, 2005, Second Class, as the first recipient
- The Mayday Medal, 2003
- The Scientific Achievement Award by the Ministry of Education of China, 2002, First class, as the first recipient.
- The National Natural Science Award, 1995, Third class, as the first recipient
- The Young Scientists Award of China, 1994 (Only 10 recipients in all fields)
- The Scientific Achievement Award by the State Education Commission of China, First class, as the first recipient.
- Top 10 Best Teachers Award, the City of Beijing, 1993
- The Scientific Achievement Award by the State Education Commission of China, Second class, as the first recipient.
- The Scientific Achievement Award by the State Education Commission of China, First class, as the fourth recipient.